ARTIST RESIDENCIES
Slider
Home > Artistes Residencies

Discover our artist residencies

Throughout the year, the American Center for Art and Culture welcomes artists as part of creation and/ or research residencies. All artistic disciplines are represented: live performance – including dance, theatre and installation –  literature, music … The length and conditions of each residency, as well as potential support, are determined according to the projects and the needs of the artists within the framework of co-productions. Each residency culminates with public showings and discussions, to discover the creations and interact with the artists supported by the Center. The residency program provides professional artists with an opportunity to engage with an international audience.

The program was launched in 2015 with a residency by renowned American choreographer Jennifer Lacey, who premiered the sold out Lieu Historique, a joyous, site-specific performance that oscillates between physical presence, withdrawal and distancing.

In 2016, DD Dorvillier pursued her work at the Center around A catalog of steps, a set of more than 300 choreographic fragments taken from videos of her works created in New York between 1990 and 2004, classified in a catalog according to an invented taxonomy.

In the summer of 2017, choreographic duo Gerard & Kelly were in a residence at the Center in preparation for their performances Reusable Parts/Endless Love, Timelining and State of, which we supported and co- produced for the Festival d’automne that same year. Creating links between dance, language and architecture, Gerard & Kelly invites us to reflect on our most intimate relationships.

Between September 2018 and April 2019, The Big Funk Company and Barefoot Productions were in residence at the Center to create their new musical theater work MAYA, UNE VOIX, freely inspired by the autobiographical novel I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.

In May 2019, in partnership with the CAPSO (Communauté d’Agglomération du Pays de Saint-Omer), the Center was pleased to welcome in residence choreographer Stefanie Batten Bland as part of Germe, a performative installation between art and science. The result is an intimate experience through the tendrils of an organism developing virally before our eyes.

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

RÉSIDENCE D'ARTISTES
Slider
Accueil > Résidence d’Artistes

Découvrez nos résidences d’artistes

Tout au long de l’année l’American Center for Art and Culture accueille des artistes dans le cadre de résidences de création et/ou de recherche. Toutes les disciplines artistiques y sont représentées : spectacle vivant, littérature, musique… La durée et les modalités de la résidence, ainsi que les éventuels dispositifs de soutien se déclinent suivant les projets et les besoins des artistes dans le cadre de coproductions. En fin de résidence, des temps de rencontre sont organisés avec le public afin que celui-ci découvre les créations et puisse échanger avec les artistes soutenus par le Centre. Le programme de résidence permet aux artistes d’être vus par une audience internationale.

Le programme démarre en 2015 avec la résidence de la chorégraphe américaine de renom Jennifer Lacey, qui crée en exclusivité la pièce in situ Lieu Historique, performance joyeuse qui oscille entre présence physique, retrait et distanciation, qui s’est jouée à guichets fermés.

En 2016, DD Dorvillier poursuit son travail au Centre autour de A catalogue of steps, ensemble de plus de 300 fragments chorégraphiques tirés des vidéos de ses œuvres créées à New York entre 1990 et 2004, classés dans un catalogue selon une taxinomie inventée.
L’été 2017, les chorégraphes Gerard & Kelly sont en résidence au Centre en préparation de leurs performances Reusable Parts/Endless Love, Timelining et State of, que le Centre soutient et coproduit pour le Festival d’Automne la même année. Tissant des liens entre la danse, le langage et l’architecture, Gerard & Kelly nous invitent à une réflexion sur nos relations les plus intimes.

Entre septembre 2018 et avril 2019, The Big Funk Company et Barefoot Productions créent au Centre leur nouvelle œuvre de théâtre musical : MAYA, UNE VOIX, librement inspirée du roman autobiographique I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings de Maya Angelou.

En mai 2019, en partenariat avec la CAPSO (Communauté d’Agglomération du Pays de Saint-Omer), le Centre est heureux d’accueillir en résidence Company Stefanie Batten Bland dans le cadre d’une recherche approfondie de l’œuvre intitulée Germe, installation performative entre art et science qui propose une expérience intime à travers les vrilles d’un organisme se développant de manière virale.

Bienvenue à l’American Center for Art and Culture.

Pour ne rater aucun de nos événements, inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter !

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Bienvenue à l’American Center for Art and Culture.

Pour ne rater aucun de nos événements, inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter !

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.